La Soufrandière

Outstanding grapes for exceptional wines produced using bio-dynamics

A family estate

Our La Soufrandière estate, bought in 1947 by our paternal grandfather, is located in Vinzelles, in the Mâcon wine-producing region of South Burgundy. Here we work 4 ha of Pouilly-Vinzelles Climat “Les Quarts”, 0.55 ha of Pouilly-Vinzelles Climat “Les Longeays” and 1 ha of Mâcon-Vinzelles “Le Clos de Grand-Père”.

All our vines, between 33 and 80 years old, are magnificently located, facing East or South-East halfway up or at the top of the slopes of very red clay and “crinoidal” limestone, formed over 180 million years ago.

Great news: Since the 2016 season, we’ve been lucky enough to be able to operate around another 5 ha, already certified Organic.
From the 2016 harvest, La Soufrandière will be able to offer you wines from Saint-Véran “La Bonnode” (3.5 ha), Pouilly-Fuissé “Les Chatenays” (0.70 ha) in Vergisson, Pouilly-Fuissé “Les Vigneraies” (0.50 ha) on the slopes of the Roche de Solutré, and even a little Aligoté (0.30 ha).

6 ha of Chardonnay in Pouilly-Vinzelles and Mâcon-Vinzelles

Choosing the life of the soil and natural rhythms

We opted for Organic and Biodynamic Farming as soon as we took the estate over in 2000. To us, this farming that quite simply respects life, that eschews the use of herbicides or synthetic pesticides, seems the only way to produce outstanding wines that are balanced, vibrant, and reveal their terroir. We also limit our yields (to around 40 hl/ha) by natural practices such as bud pruning.
The Estate has been Organic and Biodynamic certified since 2006 (official changeover in 2003).

Agriculture biologique Demeter

Our philosophy
Partial soil tillage since 2000, including 1 ha by horse since 2008

Horse ploughing

Rediscovering the old tools that respect the soils, putting animals and humans into the vineyards, limiting soil compaction – these are what motivated our interest in this method that seems old-fashioned. Our thanks to Laurent for having tried this experiment with us and his Trait-Comtoise mare “Coquette”. The adventure’s not over yet.

Individual cuvées from specific plots, for annual production of fewer than 30,000 bottles

Bringing out the terroir

Once perfectly ripe, the grapes are picked by hand, delicately crushed, then pressed for 3 hours. Following natural clarification, the juices are fermented in 6–18 year old casks (no new casks!!) or in vats, in different batches according to the plots, using the yeasts naturally present on our grapes. Maturing will last 11 months for the Mâcon-Vinzelles Clos de Grand-Père and Pouilly-Vinzelles wines, 17 months for “Les Longeays”, “Les Quarts” and the “Quarts” Cuvée Millerandée. Depending on the wines, the total sulphite contents vary from 40 to 70 mg/l (max. permitted content: Demeter 90 mg/l, Organic 150 mg/l, conventional 210 mg/l)

Biodynamics applied to our vineyards

Growing and guiding the vine in accordance with the natural rhythms of life (with the moon and planets). Stimulating the soil and the plants by spraying: matured cow dung for the soil, silica for the foliage.
Helping the vine produce healthy, balanced grapes using infusions of horsetail, nettle, osier, dandelion, or valerian.
Quite simply listening to one’s environment, observing life, and eschewing the pursuit of productivist agriculture, sick from its own medication.

For more information, we invite you to go to “Taking care of the Earth

Clocheton (small Bell-tower without bell ;-)
Clocheton (small Bell-tower without bell ;-)
JGui (left), JPhi (right). Thank you Jon Wyand (Photograph)
JGui (left), JPhi (right). Thank you Jon Wyand (Photograph)
Les Quarts, middle of July
Les Quarts, middle of July
In mean time, 501 hand spraying and ploughing with Coquette in Les Quarts
In mean time, 501 hand spraying and ploughing with Coquette in Les Quarts
La Soufrandière seen from sky
La Soufrandière seen from sky
Hand cutting
Hand cutting
Dandelion flowers in may
Dandelion flowers in may
Hand spraying 501
Hand spraying 501
Dynamisation of the 500 or 501
Dynamisation of the 500 or 501
Millerandage (Shot berries) in Les Quarts
Millerandage (Shot berries) in Les Quarts
X-Mûr & Pouilly-Vinzelles with wax
X-Mûr & Pouilly-Vinzelles with wax

La Soufrandière

Des raisins d'exception pour des vins d'exception autour de la bio-dynamie

Un Domaine Familial

Notre domaine La Soufrandière est situé à Vinzelles, au Sud de la Bourgogne dans le Mâconnais, acquise par notre Grand-Père paternel en 1947. Nous y travaillons 4 ha de Pouilly-Vinzelles Climat « Les Quarts », 0,55 ha de Pouilly-Vinzelles Climat « Les Longeays » et 1 ha de Mâcon-Vinzelles « Le Clos de Grand-Père ».

Toutes nos vignes âgées de 33 à 80 ans et plus sont magnifiquement situées, Est, Sud-Est, en milieu et haut de coteau, fait d’argile très rouge et de calcaire dit « à entroques », datant de plus de 180 millions d’années.

Grande nouvelle : Nous avons la chance depuis la campagne 2016 de pouvoir exploiter environ 5 ha supplémentaires, déjà certifiés en bio.
La Soufrandière pourra dès la récolte 2016, vous proposer des Saint-Véran « La Bonnode » (3,5 ha), des Pouilly-Fuissé « Les Chatenays » (0,70 ha) sur Vergisson, des Pouilly-Fuissé « Les Vigneraies » (0,50 ha) sur le flanc de la Roche de Solutré, et même un peu d’Aligoté (0,30 ha).

6 ha de Chardonnay en Pouilly-Vinzelles et Mâcon-Vinzelles

Le choix de la vie des sols et des rythmes naturels

Nous avons choisi l’Agriculture Biologique et Biodynamique dès la reprise du domaine en 2000. Cette agriculture respectueuse de la vie tout simplement, qui n’utilise aucun herbicide, aucun pesticide de synthèse, nous semble être la seule voie pour produire des vins exceptionnels d’équilibre, vibrants et révélateurs de terroir. Nous limitons également nos rendements (environ 40 hl/ha) par des pratiques naturelles comme l'ébourgeonnage.
Le Domaine est certifié en Bio et Biodynamie depuis 2006 (reconversion officielle en 2003).

Agriculture biologique Demeter

Notre Philosophie
Labour partiel des sols depuis 2000 dont 1 ha au cheval depuis 2008

Labourer au cheval

Redécouvrir les anciens outils respectueux du sol, remettre de l’animal et de l’humain dans les vignes, limiter le tassement, voici ce qui a motivé notre intérêt pour cette méthode qui paraît désuète. Merci Laurent pour avoir tenté l’expérience avec nous et ta jument Trait-Comtoise « Coquette ». L’aventure n’est pas finie.

Des cuvées parcellaires pour une production annuelle inférieure à 30.000 bouteilles

Vibration du Terroir

Arrivés à parfaite maturité, les raisins sont vendangés à la main, foulés délicatement puis pressés pendant 3 heures. Après débourbage naturel, les jus sont vinifiés en pièces âgées de 6 à 18 ans (pas de fûts neuf !!) ou en cuves, en lots différents selon les parcelles, avec les levures indigènes naturellement présentes sur nos raisins. Les élevages dureront 11 mois pour les Mâcon-Vinzelles Clos de Grand-Père et Pouilly-Vinzelles, 17 mois pour « Les Longeays » , « Les Quarts » et les « Quarts » Cuvée Millerandée. Selon les cuvées, les teneurs totales en Sulfites varient de 40 à 70 mg/l (teneur max autorisée : Demeter 90 mg/l, Bio 150 mg/l, conventionnel 210 mg/l)

La biodynamie appliquée à nos vignes

Cultiver et guider la vigne selon les rythmes naturels de la vie (avec la lune, les astres). Stimuler le sol et le végétal par des pulvérisations dynamisantes : la bouse de corne pour le sol, la silice pour le feuillage.
Aider la vigne à produire des raisins sains et équilibrés avec l'aide des tisanes de prêle, d'ortie, d'osier, de pissenlit ou de valériane.
Tout simplement être à l'écoute de son environnement, observer la vie et ne pas suivre une agriculture productiviste, malade de ses médicaments.

Pour plus d'information, nous vous invitons à aller sur « Soin de la Terre »

Le Clocheton
Le Clocheton
JGui (à gauche), JPhi (à droite). Merci Jon Wyand(Photograph)
JGui (à gauche), JPhi (à droite). Merci Jon Wyand(Photograph)
Les Quarts Mi-juillet
Les Quarts Mi-juillet
Passage d'une 501 et labour avec Coquette dans les Quarts
Passage d'une 501 et labour avec Coquette dans les Quarts
La Soufrandière vue du ciel
La Soufrandière vue du ciel
Rognage manuel de nos vignes
Rognage manuel de nos vignes
Crépis (fleurs jaunes) en mai
Crépis (fleurs jaunes) en mai
Pulvérisation de silice (501)
Pulvérisation de silice (501)
Dynamisation de la bouse de corne (500) ou silice (501)
Dynamisation de la bouse de corne (500) ou silice (501)
Grappes Millerandées sur les Quarts
Grappes Millerandées sur les Quarts
X-Mûr et Pouilly-Vinzelles Quarts cirés
X-Mûr et Pouilly-Vinzelles Quarts cirés